Book Reviews & Comments

Book reviews for Wise T. Owl picture story books for children - an innovative Australian educational children's book series. Use the links to the right or scroll down to find book reviews for the real life book topics you are researching.

Read the books? Add your book review here...

Click these links to add your book review for the story of: Money | Trust | Rules

Book Review for: Wise T. Owl's Story Of Money

Children's Book Review / Comment Reviewer_Rating

Grand-daughter loved it!

My little 6 yr old loved T. Owl's Book - Story of Money, her favourite page is where the king is in the pink bath with his coins!

She thinks that is just hysterical!

Cannot wait to get the other books in the series, the children will have fun while learning and talking about new things!

5
Your rating: 5

Anonymous
09/10/2013

Good Introductions to Personal Responsibility

Thank you for the copies of the first three books in the Wise T. Owl series. I thought they were good introductions to personal responsibility and money for kids. I donated them to the local primary school for their reader collection. Hopefully some kids will pick them up and read them. S Davidson

4
Your rating: 4

18/06/2014

An Hour of Sustained Interest

I am a primary school teacher. After reading the books over the weekend I took them to work. I have just read the book about money to my Year Three class, our current maths unit is money.

The books are outstanding. I have been able to explain the quite complex content in a way children can comprehend and enjoy. Reading and a discussing your book sustained the interest of my class for about an hour. We will revisit the book later this week and I am sure when we next study money.

Have you thought of developing lesson plans/ideas? I know many primary teachers struggle with teaching subjects such economics and civics. Your books are a brilliant resource and could be the keystone to units of work.

Thank you for giving the books to my friend. I look forward to purchasing your future books!

5
Your rating: 5

Ryan
18/06/2014

I Want The Whole Set

Thank you Maureen for letting me read Wise T. Owl's Story of Money at the Batemans Bay markets. I was given the books about Trust and Rules for Christmas. I want to collect the whole set.  They help me work things out. When will you have Wise T. Owl's Story of Boundaries?

5
Your rating: 5

Dillon
21/01/2014

perfect books for kids to learn difficult topics

After seeing author Maureen Nathan's earlier black and white drafts, I knew there was a need for these books in the market! Seeing the published versions today, I know they'll succeed! Perfect for kids to learn an array of important and difficult topics in a simple, accessible way. awesome awesome awesome.

5
Your rating: 5

michael harris
21/01/2014

Great Book.

Just got my hands on the book, its a great one, it has great colors and drawing and a very good interesting story to read. Thank You!!!!!!

5
Your rating: 5

Mark Lotzof
25/10/2013

Making Money Understandable

I liked their attempt to make money understandable to children. It is difficult enough to make most adults understand it or even interest them in the topic.

All they want is more of it, even if it is only the money of monetary despotism. That monetary freedom could greatly increase their ability to pay does not seem to interest them.

If they think of reforms, then they confine themselves mostly to going back to redeemable rare metal currencies.

5
Your rating: 5

John Zube
26/08/2013

Book Review for: Wise T. Owl's Story Of Trust

Children's Book Review / Comment Reviewer_Rating

Springboards to Discuss Trust and Rules

Congratulations to Maureen Nathan and illustrator Dylan Chambers. As a team you have created  very useful springboards for discussion. The Wise T. Owl series will be a welcome addition in my waiting room as a Child Psychologist..

4
Your rating: 4

Dr.
21/01/2014

Very Helpful Book For Parents

Big subject broken down into various aspects to help teach children about the important role trust has in our dealings with other people and our interaction in the world.

A must have "go to" book helping nurture positive relationships based on trust and also helpful to alert children of potentially dangerous or harmful situation that may need to be dealt with.

Humourous illustrations, in bright primary colours, help lighten the topic and make you think.

Recommend this book for: Parents and grandparents of young or primary aged children.

5
Your rating: 5

Dianne S
27/11/2013

Book Review for: Wise T. Owl's Story Of Rules

Children's Book Review / Comment Reviewer_Rating

Wise Books for English as a Second Language

I have just read the first 3 books in the Wise T. Owl Series. As I am French, English is my second language. I find the books about Rules and Trust very easy to follow, and think that they should be used in class. They would serve two purposes. Provide  English Lessons and Lessons in Self Responsibility. I look forward to seeing the book on Boundaries.

5
Your rating: 5

Agate
18/06/2014

inspirational author

Picture books for children that teaches them the value and importance of money, trust and other issues parents can teach their children. Maureen Nathan is a talented author from the South Coast of NSW who lives in France. These books make an excellent learning aid for parents and teachers.

This woman is truly inspirational. Check out her page!

5
Your rating: 5

taylor morgan
21/01/2014

Rules For The Very Young - 6 & 3 yr olds interact

Dear Maureen and team,

My grandson who is Six choose the book about rules. I pre-read it and thought the language may be a little complex for him.

I was so wrong, this book has been read over and over with different pages and rules being talked about. The questions that he asks have lead to very interesting discussions and I have also had to really try to explain what and why I believe.

It is fantastic that the emphasis is not on right and wrong but on difference.

Yesterday our three year old grandson joined in and he was very interested in the early page where different children are building sandcastles with different rules. We really did have a fantastic talk about respecting and understanding what can happen when we don't understand that sort of difference.

Thank you so much and keep up the good work.

5
Your rating: 5

Viviane Wheatley
28/12/2013

Recent Articles

published 1 year 1 day ago
published 1 year 1 month ago

Follow Us

Facebook icon
Google+ icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Newsletter

Join for news, notification of new books & specials!

Copyright 2016. Wise T. Owl Picture Story Books For Little Children | Australian Non Fiction Children's Book Series Back to Top

Back to Top